Educational Opportunities and Scholarship Program


The Army Nurse Corps encourages its nurses to improve their skills and enhance their professional experience through a variety of educational programs, including fully-funded post-graduate opportunities, continuing education and specialty courses.

Post-graduate fields include:

  • Clinical Nurse Specialist
  • Healthcare Administrator
  • Nurse Anesthetist
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Informatics
  • Nurse Midwife


In addition to the regular ROTC scholarship, if you receive an Army ROTC Nurse Scholarship you will receive the following extra benefits:

  • NCLEX-RN review course fee paid
  • NCLEX-RN exam fee paid
  • Guaranteed nurse position upon graduation
  • Malpractice insurance paid
  • Immunizations paid
  • Nursing supplies paid
  • Uniforms paid

Specialty Courses

The Army offers six specialty areas of study to nurse officers:

  • Critical Care**
  • Perioperative**
  • Emergency Medicine
  • OB/GYN**
  • Community Health
  • Psych/Mental Health**

These courses are 16 weeks in length and are conducted in a combination of classroom and clinical settings. Army Nurses must have a minimum of one year clinical experience prior to attending one of these schools.

All scholarship nurse cadets will automatically be eligible to apply for specialty training within the first 6-12 months on active duty and guaranteed a seat in one of the four specialty courses.

**The double starred items fall under the Army ROTC Course Guarantee Seat Assignment Program.