KSU students, faculty win Kentucky Press Association awards

KSU students, faculty win Kentucky Press Association awards

Posted on January 23, 2017

Kentucky State University (KSU) students brought home several awards at Friday’s annual Kentucky Press Association Awards Banquet for their work on the Thorobred News last year. Students and professional journalists compete for the awards based on the sizes of their publications, and KSU is in Student Publications Class I. The banquet was held in Louisville.

KSU graduate student Elijah Tevis won first place in the Best Sports Story category for his story on the Thorobrette basketball team’s 10-game winning streak last year.


Students, from left, Jonathan Goatley, Cecilia Parrish, Maya Brown (kneeling), Traci Thomas and Elijah Tevis.

Maya Brown, opinion editor of the Thorobred News, won second place in the Best Column category for a series of three columns she wrote on a range of topics.

Traci Thomas, who now is a graduate student in the journalism program at the University of Kentucky, won third place in the Best Feature Story category for a piece on the 2015 Summer Apprenticeship Program.

In addition, KSU visiting professor of journalism Laura Cullen Glasscock, who is editor and publisher of The Kentucky Gazette, won first place in the Best Editorial category for associate newspapers, and third place for Best Analytical News Story.