Big winners at the Bred Ball

Big winners at the Bred Ball

Posted on May 22, 2020

Members of the campus community and student organizations were big winners at the Bred Ball and Campus Life Awards Program.

Student organizations were honored, with Campus Activities Board named student organization of the year.  The Kentucky State University cheerleaders were recognized as the organization with outstanding community service. The freshmen class was honored as the Student Government Association council of the year.

Asia Scott was named 2020 female Bred of the year, while Kirk Miller was named 2020 male Bred of the year.

Faculty, administrators and staff were also recognized. Drs. Erin Gilliam and Shannon Brogan were named 2020 professors of the year. Senior Vice President Clara Ross Stamps and Dr. Derek Greenfield were named 2020 administrators of the year. Dr. Walter Malone was named 2020 student organization advisor of the year.

Bred student-athletes brought home hardware, as well. Tavianna West was posthumously awarded 2020 female athlete of the year. Erica Jones also earned 2020 female athlete of the year accolades. Jordan Level was named 2020 male athlete of the year. Fatimah Shabazz was named 2020 female coach of the year, while Timothy Queen was named male coach of the year.

Kierra Donald was named 2020 female student leader of the year, while Michael Weaver earned 2020 male student leader of the year honors.

Greek life organizations were among those honored during the Bred Ball. The Iota Mu chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi was named outstanding interfraternal chapter of the year. The Pi Omega chapter of Alpha Phi Omega won most improved interfraternal chapter. Kappa Kappa Psi was named interfraternal council of the year. The Alpha Pi chapter of Delta Sigma Theta was named outstanding NPHC chapter of the year. The Lambda chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho was named the most improved NHPC chapter. Brianna Green of Alpha Kappa Alpha was named NPHC sorority member of the year. Zion King was named NPHC fraternity member of the year. Marcus Hodge and Shamyya Nixon were named NPHC chapter presidents of the year. Delta Sigma Theta was named NPHC sorority of the year, while Alpha Phi Alpha was named NPHC fraternity of the year.